Council endorses group to help preserve region’s rich heritage
  • Thursday 21 May 2015
Fairview is a state heritage listed house at Maleny

Council today announced the appointment of nine members to the Sunshine Coast Cultural Heritage Reference Group for 2015/16.

Community Programs Portfolio Councillor, and chair of the Reference Group, Cr Jenny McKay said the Sunshine Coast Cultural Heritage Reference Group provided expert advice on the delivery of Cultural Heritage Levy funded projects that conserved our region’s cultural heritage.

“Seven existing members of the reference group will continue to share their expertise to protect the region’s rich heritage,” Cr McKay said.

“Two new members will join the group after they were selected through a formal expression of interest process which generated eight, high-calibre nominations.

“I extend a warm welcome to Darcelle Hegarty from the Bli Bli on Maroochy Historical Society and local historian Francis Windhof. Both bring significant experience and backgrounds in the field of museum and heritage management, and local history to the Heritage Reference Group.

“The representatives from two local traditional Aboriginal peoples groups, the Kabi Kabi and Jinibara, continue to serve on the reference group. This is an important step in ensuring the group is representative of our diverse cultural and traditional heritage.

“The group will meet four times a year to contribute to a shared vision for the Sunshine Coast region’s cultural heritage – a vision that is inclusive, relevant and innovative.

“As chair of the Sunshine Coast Cultural Heritage Reference Group, it gives me great pleasure to congratulate the nominees and I look forward to another 12 months of learning from their wealth of heritage experience.”

The 2015/16 Sunshine Coast Cultural Heritage Reference Group members are:
• Ken Murphy, Jinibara Peoples
• Kerry Jones, Kabi Kabi Peoples
• Lenore Meldrum, Kenilworth Museum
• Prue Cawley, Buderim Historical Society (Pioneer Cottage)
• Wendy Birrell, Discover Eumundi
• Roger Todd, Friends of Caloundra Lighthouse
• Adrian Just, Heritage Architect
• Darcelle Hegarty, Bli Bli on Maroochy Historical Society
• Francis Windhof, Historian.