- Last updated:
- 18 Feb 2017
The Mary Grigor Centre is the official name for the new archival and interpretive centre located within the Bankfoot House Heritage Precinct.
Mary Grigor together with her husband William established Bankfoot House in 1868 as a lunch stop for Cobb & Co Coaches on the Brisbane to Gympie route. Mary made a significant contribution to the early pioneering life of the community.
This new purpose-built facility will provide:
- archival storage for the significant Bankfoot House collection
- a multimedia educational interpretive centre
- spaces for community meetings, events, performance and workshops
- conservation workspace for the Friends of Bankfoot House.
Mary Grigor: A remarkable life
Delve into Our Heritage, Our Stories through the life of Mary Grigor, Bankfoot House pioneer. Recorded on the Sunshine Coast as part of the Mary Grigor Centre project, an initiative of the Sunshine Coast Council, 2015. Mary Grigor – a remarkable life – is a Sunshine Coast Council Cultural Heritage Levy initiative.
You can find more information on the Bankfoot House website.