40 finalists contest for prestigious Sunshine Coast Art Prize
  • Tuesday 16 June 2015
Sunshine Coast Art Prize 2D local finalists on the beach

Forty artists from across the nation have been selected as finalists in the prestigious 2015 Sunshine Coast Art Prize two-dimensional category.
Council’s Community Programs Portfolio Chair Jenny McKay said the prestigious Sunshine Coast Art Prize, now in its 10th year, is a significant cultural initiative for this region.

“The Art Prize has once again attracted the best contemporary and emerging artists our nation has to offer,” Cr McKay said.

“The finalists who were announced today have contributed works to the two-dimensional category of the Prize.

"This year the works were again described by the selection panel as representing an exceptionally high standard of art and the selection process was tough.

"Each year the bar is raised, challenging the panel, consisting of regional art industry representatives, to arrive at just 40 finalists from the more than 380 entries.

“It is pleasing to see seven of the Coast’s finest artists were named in that list of finalists, all vying to win the 2015 Sunshine Coast Art Prize two-dimensional category and the $15,000 cash prize. A $5000 artist residency, sponsored by Montville Country Cabins, is also part of the winner’s package. This year, the Highly Commended artist will receive a $5000 cash prize thanks to valued  sponsors - the Proost De Deyne family.

“The Sunshine Coast Art Prize 2015 award, which has earned its place as a distinguished addition to the national art calendar, culminates in an exhibition of the work of the 40 finalists at the Caloundra Regional Gallery from August 20 to October 11.”

Sunshine Coast Art Prize 2015 finalists:

Local artists: Rex Backhaus-Smith (Montville, Queensland), Kym Barrett (Chatsworth, Queensland), Robyn Hills (Caloundra, Queensland), Jamie Rochester (Parrearra, Queensland), Anna Rubin (Peregian Beach, Queensland), Gabi Timm (Weyba Downs, Queensland) and Pam Walpole (Sunshine Beach, Queensland).

Other artists from around Australia:

Thom Buchanan (Adelaide, South Australia), Damian Carroll (Belmont, Queensland), Andrew Clarke (Adelaide, South Australia), Shelly Cornish (Tintenbar, New South Wales), Meg Cowell (Princess Hill, Victoria), Donna Davis (Deebing Heights, Queensland), J Valenzuela Didi (Springwood, Queensland), Anh Do (Wombarra, New South Wales), Shannon Doyle (Gold Coast, Queensland), Samantha Everton (Brunswick West, Victoria), Robert Fenton (Frankston South, Victoria), Nick Ferguson (Terrigal, New South Wales), Ken Gailer (Gympie, Queensland), Erika Gofton (Yarraville, Victoria), Cheryl Harrison (Port Douglas, Queensland), Bronwyn Hill (Bupengary, Queensland), Amber-Rose Hulme (Doncaster, Victoria), Emma Hutton-Thamm (Yeronga, Queensland), Amaya Iturri (Melbourne, Victoria), Ilona Nelson (Yarraville, Victoria), Tom Phillips (Adelaide, South Australia), Clare Purser (Wynnum, Queensland), Matthew Quick (Collingwood, Victoria), Brian Robinson (Sabiaco, Western Australia), Paul Ryan (Thirroul, New South Wales), Steve Salo (Geelong, Victoria), Merry Sparks (Indooroopilly, Queensland), Christopher Stibio (North Melbourne, Victoria), Kristin Tennyson (Whitfield, Queensland), Filthy The Bear (Gold Coast, Queensland), Carrie Webster (Manly Vale, New South Wales), Jodie Wells (Sanctuary Cove, Queensland) and Lee Wise (Oxenford, Queensland).

The winner will be announced at the official opening of the Sunshine Coast Art Prize two-dimensional exhibition on Friday, September 4 at Caloundra Regional Gallery. For more details about the Sunshine Coast Art Prize visit council’s gallery website - www.gallery.sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au. Caloundra Regional Gallery is owned and operated by the Sunshine Coast Council. Located at 22 Omrah Avenue, the Gallery is open Wednesday to Sunday 10am to 4pm.