Step back in time and visit two of the region’s historic houses
  • Wednesday 17 February 2016
Bankfoot House, photo by Ron Gillinder

Discover some of our region’s rich and diverse heritage by visiting two of council’s heritage-listed places on the last weekend of the month.

Every last Saturday of the month, from 2pm to 4pm, visitors can enjoy The House of Stories and explore the lives of the dairy farming families who built, lived and worked at Fairview, also known as Pattemore House, from 1907 to 1995.

Meander through displays, stories, photographs, early maps and surveying records and obtain a glimpse of the early development of Maleny as an agricultural settlement in the early 1900s.

Visitors can even walk in their footsteps with a stroll over to the property's Old Dairy Bails, taking in sweeping views of North Maleny on Maleny's Heritage Trail.

Then, from 10am to 3pm every last Sunday of the month, learn how pioneering families lived and worked in the 1860s and beyond by visiting historic Bankfoot House, located in the picturesque Glass House Mountains.

Bankfoot House is the oldest known surviving residence in the Glass House Mountains district, and includes a fantastic collection which documents the history of three generations occupying the same house for more than 130 years.

Why not join one of the guided tours so that when you step into the iconic State heritage-listed home, you can immerse yourself in the experience of living in 19th and 20th centuries.

Bankfoot House was not only a family home but also the original Post Office and a stopover for travellers and crew of Cobb & Co until 1879.

The original lunch table used by passengers of the coach service still remains at the house and is one of the many talking points.

The breathtaking views of Mt Tibrogargan make a beautiful backdrop to the property.

With grassy areas to relax with a picnic, Bankfoot House is the ideal place for a great Sunday out with the whole family.

Bankfoot House is located at 1998 Old Gympie Road, Glass House Mountains and open 10am to 3pm on the last Sunday of each and month, except for public holidays. Group tours are also available by appointment by emailing friendsofbankfoot@gmail.com .

Fairview is located at 15 Porters Lane, Maleny and open from 2pm to 4pm on the last Saturday of each month. Group tours are also available by appointment by emailing gail@mavmuse.com. Light refreshments are also available.