Cooroy Library sets a new benchmark for public library design with architectural award
  • Wednesday 10 April 2013

Sunshine Coast Council’s Cooroy Library has set a new benchmark for public library design by winning the Gabriel Poole Award for Building of the Year at the 2013 Sunshine Coast Regional Architecture Awards on 22 March 2013.

Division 12 Councillor Tony Wellington said the state-of-the-art Cooroy Library had taken out top honours for its environmentally sustainable design by Brewster Hjorth Architects.

“The Cooroy Library is an important element in the fabric of the local community. Not only is the library used as a recreation and information resource, it is also a terrific facility for community meetings and interpersonal gatherings,” Cr Wellington said.

“It delivers a rich experience for today’s library customer - far more varied than libraries of the past. As well as the library collection, the Cooroy Library also provides Information Technology opportunities, meeting rooms, quiet reflective spaces plus areas designed especially for children.

“The judges selected Cooroy Library for its contemporary architectural element which adds a distinctive quality to the rural townscape of Cooroy. The building connects the main street with the community parklands, the historical Mill site, and also the cultural arts precinct of the Butter Factory.

“The judges were also impressed with the robust and low energy shell; the interior spaces, which they described as being bright and alive with colour, activity and natural light; and the flexible functionality of these spaces.

“This is an award that all the community can celebrate. It was direct community input that ensured the final structure would be an integral meeting place for hinterland residents.”

Brewster Hjorth Architects, known for their contemporary designs for public libraries and public spaces, worked with the community to develop the award winning Cooroy Library design.

The winning projects will progress to the coveted Queensland Architecture Awards to be announced in Brisbane on 21 June 2013.