Council endorses 2010 Noosa Biosphere directors
  • Friday 20 November 2009

Sunshine Coast Council today endorsed the appointment of the directors of the Noosa Biosphere Limited (NBL) for 2010, paving the way for them to take up their positions following the Annual General Meeting in December.

Those endorsed - seven returning and two new directors – represent all community sector boards and include Michael Donovan, Phillip Moran, Frank Pardon, Tony Haslam, Varina Nissen, Peter Homan, Suzanne Thompson, John Sereni and Steve Cooper.

Division 12 councillor and NBL director, Lew Brennan welcomed the endorsement and said council recognised partnerships and alliances as catalysts for innovation and creativity.

“The Noosa Biosphere is about all parts of the community working together to find and share sustainable ways to live with the environment,” Cr Brennan said.

“UNESCO is vitally interested in the way the 2009 directors have structured the NBL to achieve this goal, expecting it will be an inspiring model for others to follow.

“For this reason it’s exciting that most of the team, who have done the initial hard yards developing the governance structure and the management plan, are keen to return to share their expertise and to ensure the plan outlined becomes a reality.”

In September 2007, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation’s (UNESCO) Man and the Biosphere Program (MAB), designated the former Noosa Shire boundary as a biosphere region, a first for Queensland.

A biosphere reserve is an international conservation listing awarded to an area with innovative approaches to conservation and sustainable development. Biosphere reserves can be land-based and/or marine ecosystems and promote a balanced relationship between humans and the biosphere.

Visit the new Noosa Biosphere website for more information.