Finalists announced for prestigious art prize
  • Thursday 29 May 2008

The forty finalists in the prestigious Sunshine Coast Art Prize have been announced.

Sunshine Coast Mayor Bob Abbot said the difficult task of selecting 40 artists from more than 400 applications has been completed.

“Art lovers are now in for a real treat with an exhibition of the finalists’ entries to be shown at the Caloundra Regional Art Gallery from August 20,” Mayor Abbot said.

“This art prize is a significant cultural initiative for this region. It has seen the Sunshine Coast gain national recognition in the arts.’’

Caloundra Regional Art Gallery Director John Waldron said the selection includes an “exciting mix” of leading local and national emerging and established artists.

“The artists are of an exceptionally high standard and the exhibition will feature painting, drawing, printmaking, mixed media and photography,” Mr Waldron said.

“The partnership with the Sajen legal has resulted in a signature cultural event for Caloundra and the Sunshine Coast, and we look forward to the exhibition and official announcement on August 28,” Mr Waldron said.

This year’s judge is Tony Ellwood, Director of the Queensland Art Gallery. Tony was Deputy Director of the National Gallery Victoria from 2000 and Director of the Bendigo Art Gallery from 1996 to 1999.

This year’s winner will receive a $15,000 cash prize and a four-week residency in picturesque Maleny to the value of $5000.

The 40 finalists for the Sunshine Coast Art Prize 08 are:
Peter Alwast, Qld; Roderick Bunter, Qld; Evangeline Cachinero, Qld; Gabrielle Courtenay, NSW; Matt Coyle, Tas; James Culkin, NSW; Simon Cuthbert, Tas; David Fairbairn, NSW; Fiona Foley, Qld; Salvatore Gerardi, NSW; Jessica Geron, NSW; Michelle Hamer, Vic; Christopher Howlett, Qld; Ross Hucks, Qld; Peter Hudson, Qld; Todd Hunter, NSW, Jennie Jackson, Qld; Bronek Kozka, Vic; Lisa Lee, Qld; Blair McNamara, Qld; Pierre Mol, NSW; Deb Mostert, Qld; Michael Muir, NSW; Simon Obarzanek, Vic; Catherine O'Donnell, NSW; David Paulson, Qld; Jack Randell, NSW; Scott Redford, Qld; Julie Reeves, Qld, Marc and Gillie Schattner, NSW; Pamela See, Qld; Anke Stacker, NSW; Bob Stokic, Qld; Tanya Stubbles, NSW; Cameron Tauschke, VIC; Margaret Turner, Qld; Pam Walpole, Qld; Fiona White, NSW; Christine Willcocks, NSW; Dominique Wise-Jarvis, Qld.