Finalists selected for prestigious Sunshine Coast Art Prize
  • Thursday 30 May 2013

Sunshine Coast Council is proud to announce that the finalists for this year’s prestigious Sunshine Coast Art Prize (SCAP) have been selected and there is a strong representation from local artists.

Sunshine Coast Council’s Community Programs Portfolio Councillor Jenny McKay said SCAP, now in its eight year, is a significant cultural initiative for this region and has once again attracted the best contemporary and emerging artists our nation has to offer.

“The SCAP finalists represent an exceptionally high standard of traditional 2D interpretations of painting and drawing through to innovative 3D art forms,” Cr McKay said.

"Each year the bar is raised, challenging the selection panel to arrive at 40 finalists for each of the 2D and 3D categories.

“It is pleasing to see there are 15 of the Coast’s finest artists named as finalists vying to win the 2013 Sunshine Coast Art Prize (SCAP) 2D and 3D categories each receiving $15,000 cash prize.

“Once again this year we have an artist who has been named a finalist in both the 2D and 3D categories of SCAP – Jason Christopher from Bondi Beach.

“I certainly do not envy this year’s judge’s role in critiquing and reviewing these works to determine the winners of each category.”

Division 2 Councillor Tim Dwyer said art lovers are in for a real treat with the 2D category finalists’ entries to be showcased at Caloundra Regional Gallery from 21 August to 13 October 2013.

"The Caloundra Regional Gallery is the original home of the SCAP. As the Prize grows in reputation, it's terrific to see Caloundra continuing to play an integral role in bringing this prestigious art prize to the community,” he said.

"All are welcome to attend the gala opening and announcement of the winner on Friday 6 September from 6pm to 9pm.

“The winning artwork from the 2D category will be added to council’s Corporate Art Collection.”

Division 12 Councillor Tony Wellington said SCAP is supported by council to encourage artistic excellence and to bring quality artwork to a regional audience.

“I encourage residents to visit Noosa Regional Gallery to experience the finalists on display from 29 August to 20 October,” he said.

"The SCAP 3D category winner will be announced at a gala opening event on Saturday 7 September from 1pm to 4pm.”

In addition to the top awards, other prizes include:

  • Two non-acquisitive ‘Highly Commended’ prizes in the 2D and 3D categories, each to the value of $2,500, will also be announced at the official exhibition launches
  • A non-acquisitive People’s Choice prize in each of the 2D and 3D categories, to the value of $2,500, to be awarded to the artists who receive the most votes from visitors to the SCAP 2D and 3D exhibitions.
  • Sunshine Coast’s emerging tertiary students will be showcased through SCAP T3, a non-acquisitive art prize that includes $3,000 for a 2D category and $3,000 for a 3D category.
  • A non-acquisitive People’s Choice prize in SCAP T3, to the value of $500, to be awarded to the artist who receives the most votes from visitors to the T3 exhibition.

The community can also get involved in this year’s SCAP by visiting each of the finalist exhibitions and voting for their favourite artist in the People’s Choice or Children’s Choice awards.

Sunshine Coast Art Prize 2013 finalists:


Local artists: David Green from Buderim, Noela Mills from Maleny, L.M. Noonan from Peachester, Andy Powell from Noosa Heads, Gabi Timm from Weyba Downs and Margaret Turner from Moffat Beach.

Other artists: Scott Bennett, Alice Blanch, Anna Brown, Celeste Chandler, Matthew Cheyne, Jason Christopher, Ray Coffey, Mel Dare, Shannon Doyle, Shane Drinkwater, Robert Fenton, Filthy The Bear, Christian Flynn, Robert Hague, Michelle Hamer, Stevan Jacks, Col Jordan, Gladdy Kemarre, Manfred Krautschneider, Mitch Lang, Lee Lombardi, Donna Malone, Karla Marchesi, Claudine Marzik, Christopher Morgan, Deb Mostert, David Nielsen, Sue Ninham ,Colin Offord, Luke Perkins, Paul Snell, Thom Stuart, Seabastion Toast and Paul White.


Local artists: Lisa Brummel from Noosaville, Johanna DeMaine from Landsborough, Rowley Drysdale from Cooroy, Hew Chee Fong from Peachester, Nicole Hoschke from Mapleton, Ann Hounslow from Buddina, Marc Kalifa from Maleny, Wayne Markwort from Witta and Vit Martinek from Brooloo.

Other artists: Sally Adair, Carolyn Barker, Catrine Berlatier, Emily Valentine Bullock, Matt Calvert, Jason Christopher, Erin Conron, Clinton Cunningham, The Winged Collective Falcini & Gottgens, Kath Fries, Timothy Fleming, Mandy Gunn, Christopher Handran, Lyndal Hargrave, Fiona Hiscock, Chris Howlett, Lea Kannar, Michaela Kloeckner, Dinni Kunoth Kemarre, Francesca Mataraga, Carol McGregor, Nadia Mercuri, Natasha Natale, Derek Thompson and Ngunytjima Carroll, Ann O’Connor, Lae Oldmeadow, Sarah O’Sullivan, Tracey Sarsfield, Caroline Watson, Jacek Wankowski and Di West.