Learn how to grow your own backyard bushfood
  • Tuesday 22 May 2012

Sunshine Coast Council’s Living Smart Program and Libraries presents free Backyard Bushfood workshops at various locations across the Coast throughout June 2012.

Presenters Graeme White and Veronica Cougan established Witjuti Grub Bushfood Nursery located in Kenilworth in 1996 and specialise in quality native bushfood plants for the home gardener and commercial grower.

Graeme and Veronica have helped establish Bushfood gardens in over 50 schools and hundreds of private properties in addition to consulting in the establishment of a number of commercial bushfood orchards.

Be captivated by Graeme’s presentation on native plants that provide flavoursome food sources or other uses and how to grow them. Graeme shares his extensive knowledge that explores the timeless potential of our unique wild food flavours and bushfood that have sustained Traditional Custodians for thousands of years.

To learn how to grow flavoursome native plants, book today online at council’s library website or by phoning one of your local libraries.

 

Where

When

Time

Bookings

Beerwah Library

Tuesday 5 June

2pm to 3.30pm

5439 2500

Caloundra Library

Tuesday 12 June

10am to 11.30am

5499 5444

Coolum Library

Tuesday 26 June

10am to 11.30am

5343 2000

Cooroy Library

Monday 18 June

10am to 11.30am

5454 9000

Kawana Library

Monday 25 June

10am to 11.30am

5458 6500

Maleny Neigbourhood Centre

Wednesday 6 June

10am to 11.30am

5435 3100

Maroochydore Library

Friday 8 June

10am to 11.30am

5475 8900

Nambour Library

Wednesday 20 June

10am to 11.30am

5441 8332

Noosa Library

Friday 1 June

10am to 11.30am

5442 4411