Majority of Sunshine Coast beaches closed at this time
  • Friday 29 June 2012

Sunshine Coast Council takes beach safety seriously and has made the decision to close all beaches except three – Noosa, Mooloolaba and Alexandra Headlands.

This is due to the Bureau of Meteorology issuing a severe weather and dangerous surf warning and council's review of the conditions for the Sunshine Coast region.

The location of the three beaches that will remain open at this time are more protected from the large swells than other sites.

Conditions are expected to ease overnight or early tomorrow. Council will be regularly reassessing the beach closures.