New grant assessment committee appointed
  • Tuesday 26 August 2008

The Sunshine Coast Regional Council has appointed a new grant assessment committee for the Regional Arts Development Fund (RADF).

The RADF is a partnership between the State Government, through Arts Queensland, and the Council. It provides support for arts and cultural workers and contributing to the cultural development of communities throughout the region.

Councillor Jenny McKay, who will chair the committee, said she was delighted with the quality of nominations for the committee.

“The priority in establishing a grant assessment committee is that all artform categories are well represented.

“I am confident that we have strong representation across the region as well as the arts and cultural expertise to make informed decisions.”

The newly appointed members are: Danielle Cassidy (Palmwoods), Dr Lisa Chandler (Mt Coolum), Ric Halstead (Noosa Heads), Brian Hewitt (Nambour), Annette Hughes (Cooroy), Glen Manning (Glenview) and Margaret Turner (Caloundra).

At a RADF function this week, Councillor McKay thanked the outgoing committee members for their commitment to the program and welcomed the incoming committee.

“Through the RADF program, we are able to support and nurture the arts and cultural activities that contribute to the vibrancy and community spirit of the region.”

Sunshine Coast residents are welcome to apply for funding for projects, programs and events that develop the arts within the region.

The next funding round closes September 15. More information can be found on Council’s website under the For Residents section.