New group to contribute to Coast’s cultural heritage
  • Friday 31 January 2014

Sunshine Coast Council today announced the appointment of 10 new members to the Sunshine Coast Cultural Heritage Reference Group (SCHRG) for 2014/15.

Community Programs Portfolio Councillor, and chair of the Reference Group, Jenny McKay said the SCHRG is an important community group which provides advice to council on the delivery of Cultural Heritage Levy funded projects which preserve our region’s cultural heritage.

“The new members were selected through a formal expression of interest process which generated 16 nominations,’ Cr McKay said

“This year council invited representatives from two local traditional Aboriginal peoples groups, the Kabi Kabi and Jinibara, to join the reference group. This is an important step in ensuring the group is representative of our diverse cultural and traditional heritage.

“To ensure a wide range of knowledge and perspectives, members were also chosen for their demonstrated skills and experience in a range of industry sectors including community, education, tourism, place, museum and built heritage.

“The group will meet four times a year to contribute to a shared vision for the Sunshine Coast region’s cultural heritage – a vision that is inclusive, relevant and innovative.

“As chair of the SCHRG it gives me great pleasure to congratulate the successful nominees who represent a patchwork of our diverse region. I look forward to another 12 months of learning from their wealth of heritage experience.”

The newly elected 2014/15 Sunshine Coast Cultural Heritage Reference Group members are:

  • Ken Murphy, Jinibara Peoples
  • Kerry Jones, Kabi Kabi Peoples
  • Lenore Meldrum, Kenilworth Museum
  • Prue Cawley, Buderim Historical Society (Pioneer Cottage)
  • Dorothy Gauntlett, Landsborough Museum
  • Wendy Birrell, Discover Eumundi
  • Roger Todd, Friends of Caloundra Lighthouse
  • Raymond Kerkhove, Historian
  • Adrian Just, Heritage Architect