Painting from the 'art'
  • Wednesday 11 June 2014

Forty artists from across the nation have been announced as finalists in the prestigious 2014 Sunshine Coast Art Prize.

Sunshine Coast Council’s Community Programs Portfolio Chair Jenny McKay said the prestigious Sunshine Coast Art Prize, now in its ninth year, was a significant cultural initiative for this region.

“The Art Prize has once again attracted the best contemporary and emerging artists our nation has to offer,” Cr McKay said.

“The finalists represent an exceptionally high standard of traditional 2D interpretations of painting and drawing.

“Each year the bar is raised, challenging the selection panel, consisting of regional art industry representatives, to arrive at 40 finalists from nearly 300 entries.

“It is pleasing to see there are six of the Coast’s finest artists named as finalists vying to win the 2014 Sunshine Coast Art Prize receiving a $15,000 cash prize.

“I certainly do not envy this year’s judge’s role in critiquing and reviewing these works to determine the winner.”

Sunshine Coast Art Prize 2014 finalists:

Local artists: Miles Allen (Flaxton, Queensland), Carley Cornelissen (Buderim, Queensland), Phil Rolton (Currimundi, Queensland), Joanne Turner (Maleny, Queensland), Pam Walpole (Sunshine Beach, Queensland) and Jane Woodruff (Noosa, Queensland).

Other artists from around Australia: Stephen Bird (Maroubra, New South Wales), Ariel Cameron (Fairfield, Victoria), Donna Davis (Deebing Heights, Queensland), Matthew De Moiser (Preston, Victoria), Odette England (Hahndorf, South Australia), Robert Fenton (Frankston, Victoria), Prudence Flint (St Kilda, Victoria), Janice Gobey (Box Hill South, Victoria), Carla Gottgens (Brunswick East, Victoria), Elaine Green (Pottsville, New South Wales), Robert Hague (Newport, Victoria), Amaya Iturri (Pascoe Vale, Victoria), Hyun-hee Lee (Paddington, New South Wales), Judi Liosatos (Emerald, Queensland), Dan McDonnell (The Channon, New South Wales), Tessa McOnie (Subiaco, Western Australia), Nicola Moss (Willow Vale, Queensland), Vestige Collective (South Golden Beach, New South Wales), Jud Omand (Forest Hill, Victoria), Raquel Ormella (Canberra, ACT), Daniel O’Toole (Camperdown, New South Wales), Dylan Quirk (Mermaid Waters, Queensland), Melissa Ritchie (Mount Warrigal, New South Wales), Donna Maree Robinson (Sarina, Queensland), Alma Sarac (Chapel Hill, Queensland), Tracy Sarroff (Yarraville, Victoria), Sam Scoufos (Brisbane, Queensland), Merry Sparks (Brisbane, Queensland), Kristin Tennyson (Edge Hill, Queensland), Filthy The Bear (Palm Beach, Queensland), James Tinsley (Mosman Park, Western Australia), Greer Townshend (Surfers Paradise, Queensland), LeAnne Vincent (Ipswich, Queensland) and Sharon West (Thornbury, Victoria).

Sunshine Coast Council gratefully acknowledges the following supporters of the Sunshine Coast Art Prize 2014.

Sunshine Coast Art Prize Sponsors

  • Friends of Caloundra Regional Gallery Inc.
  • The Proost-De Deyne Family
  • Analogue Digital
  • Fresh PR and Marketing
  • Sunshine Coast Innovation Centre
  • SCAIP Inc.
  • James Birrell Design Lab.

Minor Sponsors

  • Tamarind Spicers
  • Rumba Resort
  • Red Chair Productions
  • Sunshine Coast Theatre Alliance
  • Arley Farm
  • Sunshine Coast Destination Ltd
  • Positive Solutions
  • University of the Sunshine Coast Gallery
  • Arts Connect Inc.
  • Earthbase Productions
  • Beachcomber on the Spit, Mooloolaba
  • Maroochydore Chamber of Commerce
  • Regional Development Australia
  • Sunshine Coast Creative Alliance
  • TAFE Queensland East Coast (formerly known as Sunshine Coast TAFE)
  • Immanuel Arts Festival.

Media Sponsors

  • SALT Magazine
  • 92.7 Mix FM
  • My Weekly Preview.

For more details about the Sunshine Coast Art Prize visit council’s gallery website - Caloundra Regional Gallery is owned and operated by the Sunshine Coast Council. Located at 22 Omrah Avenue, the Gallery is open Wednesday to Sunday 10am to 4pm.