Sunshine Coast Art Prize 2016 exhibition now open
  • Thursday 18 August 2016
sunshine coast art prize

Forty incredible artworks have been unveiled at Caloundra Regional Gallery for the Sunshine Coast Art Prize 2016 finalist exhibition open today, August 18.

Arts Portfolio Councillor Rick Baberowski said the exhibition showcased the diversity and depth of talent of Australian artists.

“The profile of the Sunshine Coast Art Prize has grown significantly since it first began 11 years ago,” Cr Baberowski said.

“The Art Prize is now regarded as one of the nation’s leading regional art awards and I encourage everyone to visit the gallery and make the most of this wonderful opportunity to see the artworks for themselves.

“Featuring work by well-known and emerging contemporary Australian artists, including local artists Michael Cook, Jandamarra Cadd, Stefan Dunlop, Peter Hudson, Dasha Riley and AJ Taylor, this really is an exhibition not to be missed.

“I look forward to announcing who the winner will be at the official opening event at the gallery on September 1.”

The Sunshine Coast Art Prize 2016 winner will receive a $25,000 cash prize sponsored by Audi Centre Sunshine Coast and Sunshine Coast Council, plus an artist residency, sponsored by Montville Country Cabins. The winning artwork will be acquired into the Sunshine Coast Art Collection.

The Highly Commended artist will receive a $5000 cash prize sponsored by local philanthropists, the Proost De Deyne family. A People’s Choice Prize is also on offer with the winner to receive $2500 thanks to Caloundra Chamber of Commerce.

The exhibition is on display until Sunday, October 2.

For more details about the Sunshine Coast Art Prize visit council’s gallery website.

Sunshine Coast Art Prize 2016 finalists:

Local artists: Jandamarra Cadd (Pomona, Queensland), Michael Cook (Parrearra, Queensland), Stefan Dunlop (Tinbeerwah, Queensland), Peter Hudson (Maleny, Queensland), Dasha Riley (Woombye, Queensland), AJ Taylor (Woombye, Queensland)

Other artists from around Australia:  Bryce Anderson (New South Wales), Nick Ashby (Queensland), Paul Bai (Queensland), Min Woo Bang (New South Wales), Bianca Beetson (Queensland), Chris Bennie (Queensland), Delwyn Blomberg (Queensland), Julie Bradley (ACT), Celeste Chandler (Victoria), Andrew Clarke (South Australia), Samuel Condon (Victoria), Gabrielle Courtenay (New South Wales), Matt Coyle (Tasmania), Prudence Flint (Victoria), Christian Flynn (Queensland), Patrick Francis (Victoria), Rew Hanks (New South Wales), Charlotte Haywood (New South Wales), Hyun-Hee Lee (New South Wales), Owen Leong (New South Wales), Belem Lett (New South Wales), Laith McGregor (New South Wales), Jennifer Mills (Victoria), Robert Moore (New South Wales), Deb Mostert (Queensland), Genevieve Felix Reynolds (New South Wales), Sam Scoufos (Queensland), Camille Serisier (Queensland), Wendy Sharpe (New South Wales), Tania Smith (Victoria), Jo St Baker (Queensland), Cyrus Tang (Victoria), Julian Thompson  (Queensland), Elizabeth Willing (Queensland).